Northampton Community Music Center

139 South Street

Northampton, MA  01060

(413) 585-0001

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

NCMC is a proud member of the National Guild for Community Arts Education and the Suzuki Association of the Americas.

NCMC programs are made possible in part by a grant from the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency.

Chamber music at NCMC is supported by a grant from ACMP (Associated Chamber Music Players).

Office Hours (Sept-June)

Mondays  12:00-6:30

Tuesdays  9:00-6:30

Wednesdays  9:00-6:30

Thursdays  9:00-6:30

Fridays  9:00-5:00

Office Hours (July-Aug)

Mondays  9:00-6:00

Tuesdays  9:00-6:00

Wednesdays  9:00-6:00

Thursdays  9:00-6:00

NCMC EIN number: 04-3428393

The Pioneer Valley New Horizons Band provides a fun and nurturing social environment in which retired and/or senior adults with little-to-no formal music education can learn a concert band instrument and play ensemble music with their peers. Through a partnership with Falcetti Music, participants have the option of low-cost instrument rentals that are delivered on the first day. In addition to full band rehearsals, participants are given sectional group instruction by music students from UMASS Amherst and other local universities.

Karen Atherton, conductor

To learn more about New Horizons International Music Association, click here.

$135 per season (12 weeks)

The Pioneer Valley New Horizons Band is

made possible, in part, by Lathrop Community. 

Pioneer Valley New Horizons Band -  2019-20 Schedule

Rehearsal Locations:

NCMC (Northampton Community Music Center) - 139 South Street, Northampton

NCA (Northampton Center for the Arts) - 33 Hawley Street, Northampton

  • All Tuesday rehearsals will be sectionals

  • All Thursday rehearsals will be full band rehearsals

  • All rehearsals will be held from 11:00 am to Noon

Fall Schedule:

New Horizons "Meet-and-Greet":  Thu, Sep 5, 11:00 am to Noon (NCMC)   

A chance for potential new members to learn about the program and meet the director. 

Rehearsal Schedule:

Thu. Sep 12, 11:00 am to Noon - First Rehearsal/Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Sep 17 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Sep 19 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCA)

Tue, Sep 24 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Sep 26 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Oct 1 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Oct 3 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Oct 8 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Oct 10 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Oct 15 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Oct 17 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Oct 22 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Oct 24 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Oct 29 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Oct 31 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCA)

Tue, Nov 5 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Nov 7 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Nov 12 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Nov 14 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Nov 19 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Nov 21 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCA)

***No meetings Nov 26 and Nov 28 for Thanksgiving Break***

Tue, Dec 3 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Dec 5 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Dec 10 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Performance Schedule:

Tue, Dec 10 - 6:30 pm - Holiday Choral Festival (First Churches, 129 Main Street, Northampton)

Spring Schedule:

New Horizons "Meet-and-Greet":  Thu, Jan 30, 11:00 am to Noon (NCMC)

A chance for potential new members to learn about the program and meet the director. Thanks to Falcetti Music, different instruments will be on hand to try out. Those who already own an instrument should bring it with them to be assessed for cleaning and/or repairs.

Rehearsal Schedule: 

Thu, Feb 6 - 11:00 am to Noon - First Rehearsal/Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Feb 11 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Feb 13 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Feb 18 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Feb 20 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Feb 25 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Feb 27 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCA)

Tue, Mar 3 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Mar 5 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Mar 10 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Mar 12 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

***No meetings Mar 17 and Mar 19 -  Five College Spring Break***

Tue, Mar 24 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Mar 26 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCA)

Tue, Mar 31 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Tue, Apr 7 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Apr 9 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Apr 14 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Apr 16 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Apr 21 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Apr 23 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, Apr 28 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, Apr 30 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCA)

Tue, May 5 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Thu, May 7 - 11:00 am to Noon - Full Band (NCMC)

Tue, May 12 - 11:00 am to Noon - Sectionals (NCMC)

Performance Schedule:

Sat, May 16 - Springfest